Alabama State Scholarships

By | July 11, 2016

Alabama State Scholarships

Alabama Environmental Health Association Scholarship

The Environmental Health Association of the wonderful state of Alabama offers one $1,000 award to a junior or senior undergraduate student specializing in Environmental Health or its related fields. Interested students must submit an application along with transcripts and one letter of recommendation. A detailed documentation of extra-curricular activities, employment and volunteer work is required. The award is presented in person to the student at the Association’s annual meeting which usually takes place April. In addition to the award, a one year membership to AEHA is extended to the recipient. The deadline for the scholarship is updated annually on their website.

The AWS Airgas Terry Jarvis Memorial Scholarship

This opportunity awards a $2,500 scholarship each year to a one student pursuing a career in welding and engineering. To considered, applicants must be at least 18 years old, have already earned a high school diploma or GED, be enrolled at an American or Canadian institution of higher education and maintained a minimum GPA of 3.0 or higher in all courses related to engineering. Interested students must be a U.S. citizen. Preferred candidates will exhibit financial need and be interested in studies of industrial gas. The scholarship deadline is February 15th before the fall of enrollment. Find more information here.

The David Womack Memorial Alabama LGBT Scholarship

This Alabaman opportunity provides one $1,000 scholarship for any gay or lesbian student from Alabama who is enrolled in an undergraduate program at an American institution of higher education. Applicants should submit an application that includes a copy of a college acceptance letter and a personal essay detailing background, education experiences, future aspirations and how the money will assist in pursuing a career. An explanation for why the applicant is deserving of the award is required. Application deadline is June 30, 2017.

Coca-Cola First-Generation Scholarship

A scholarship award of $20,000, the Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship in Alabama is distributed equally over the applicant’s four years of undergraduate study. It is reserved for first-generation college attendees and who are specifically accepted and enrolled at the University of Alabama – Tuscaloosa. The scholarship may be renewed each year.  Applicants must be residents of Alabama and submit high school transcripts proving a minimum GPA of 3.0. The scholarship deadline is normally December 1st; however, scholarship specifics are updated annually on the website. More information can be found online.

Linly Heflin Scholarship

This opportunity offers women a $4,000 renewable award toward pursuing an undergraduate degree. Applicants must enroll in an accredited four-year college or university in Alabama; however, recipients may transfer from a 2 year college. Students must have a minimum ACT score of 23 to be considered. In order to maintain the awarded scholarship, scholars must maintain required enrollment status and GPA.  The scholarship deadline is January 9, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *