Connecticut State Scholarships

By | July 25, 2016

Connecticut State Scholarships

Bob Eddy Scholarship Program

Presented by the Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists Foundation Inc., the Bob Eddy Scholarship offers five $2,500 awards with the intent to promote careers in Journalism. Candidates must be a resident of Connecticut and a currently enrolled junior or senior in any accredited institution of higher education anywhere in the world. Applicants should submit a 500 word essay about a current event that impacted their lives and why. Expanding on the topic, applicants are asked to demonstrate their originality of thought by explaining how the story could have been presented differently in order to reach a wider audience. The scholarship deadline is April 8, 2017. You can find more information online.

Hood Sportsman Scholarship

Presented by Hood Milk, the Hood Sportsman Scholarship offers eighteen non-renewable $5,000 awards to high school seniors who are varsity athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and are intending to enroll in a two or four-year college or university in one of the six New England states. Candidates must submit a completed application along with an essay explaining how their sportsmanship integrity extends itself beyond the athletic field. The deadline is March 11. 2017. You can find more information here by clicking rules and regulations at the bottom of the page online.

Elson T. Killam Memorial Scholarship

The Elson T. Killam Memorial Scholarship is presented by New England Water Works Association and offers one $1,500 award to any current undergraduate or graduate student who lives in New England and is enrolled in a civil or environmental engineering major at an accredited two or four-year institution of higher education in New England. Students should submit an online application, a copy of the FAFSA, two letters of recommendation, official transcripts, an educational resume and a personal statement regarding educational and career plans and how the plans will benefit NEWWA. Scholarship deadline is April 1, 2017. You can find more information online at the scholarship website.

The Richard E. Taber Citizenship Award

Presented by The First County Bank, the Richard Taber Citizenship Award offers three $5,000 citizenship awards to high school seniors residing only in Fairfield County and who have been accepted to an accredited two or four-year institution of higher education. Candidates are required to submit a completed application, transcripts that reflect a minimum B average or 3.0, two letters of references and a 1000 word essay. The deadline is April 29,2017. You can find more information online.

The Roothbert Fund

This funding opportunity offers twenty $3,000 scholarships to help students from states in the eastern U.S. pursue an education at an accredited two or four-year institution of higher education. There are no required targeted areas of academic study; however, preferred candidates will be seeking out a profession in the field of education. Primary consideration will be extended to those students with the ability to demonstrate spiritual motivation. The scholarship deadline is January 31, 2017. More information can be found online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *