Critical Language Scholarship

By | July 18, 2016

Critical Language Scholarship

The Critical Language Scholarship, often shortened to CLS, is a special scholarship that provides students with the opportunity to expand their language learning. In fact, the program is considered a fully-funded cultural immersion and overseas language exploration for students who plan to master any critical language. The scholarship is designed to help students, both graduate and undergraduate, broaden their knowledge and learn the language they want without any barriers.

One of the best things about this scholarship program is that students do not necessarily have to have any previous experience studying any of the critical languages. This means that even a new student with the willingness to learn the critical language can apply. Only five of the languages require some type of previous study.

The scholarship program does not limit what students participate or apply when it comes to their fields of study, interests, or career path. The CLS focuses more on the willingness of a student to learn a critical language. It is important for all students to know that the scholarship is competitive and is considered an intensive group based language and cultural enrichment program.

The CLS focuses on 14 critical languages, which include:

  • Turkish
  • Bangla
  • Korean
  • Azerbaijani
  • Hindi
  • Urdu
  • Punjabi
  • Indonesian
  • Swahili
  • Persian
  • Arabic
  • Chinese
  • Russian
  • Japanese

Students who want to apply for the Critical Language Scholarship will need to make sure that they meet the necessary requirements and submit the application and all materials by the stated deadlines. This scholarship provides both undergraduate and graduate students with the opportunity to learn a critical language and connect with students and citizens from countries abroad.

Below, we will learn more about the Critical Language Scholarship and provide you with the information you need to know.

About the Critical Language Scholarship

The Critical Language Scholarship does have some general requirements and criteria that must be met at the time of submitting your application.

Applicants who submit an application must be 18 years of age and a US citizen. Unfortunately, permanent residents and non-US citizens are ineligible for the scholarship award.

All applicants must be enrolled in a US accredited undergraduate or graduate degree program. The school must be on the accredited list for your application to be considered.

All applicants will need to be in good physical and mental health to participate in the program. You will be required to have your physician fill out documentation giving approval and there is no exception to this requirement.

Undergraduate students who want to participate in the program will need to have completed a minimum of one academic year at their school. Students will also need to turn in their application with all forms including two letters of recommendation as well. The letters of recommendation should include at least one letter from someone at the university level who has knowledge of your academic performance.

Those applicants who are selected as winners must receive all appropriate travel forms and visas from their abroad countries within the stated timeframe.

The application for the 2016 school year has passed, but applications for the 2017 CLS will be open in September of 2016.

Students who receive the scholarship can expect the language learning to be equal to one full academic year of study in the language.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *