Texas State Scholarships

By | September 30, 2016

Texas State Scholarships

The TSJCL Lourania Miller & Gareth Morgan Scholarships

Presented by Texas Classical Association for high school seniors, the TSJCL Scholarship offers two $1,000 awards to high school seniors who are intending to enroll full-time at an accredited college or university to continue studying Latin and the classics. Recipients may take Latin or Greek language their freshman year but not at the beginning levels. Civilization and culture classes may not be used in place of the language classes. Candidates are nominated by their high school language teacher. Students should create an online account in older to submit application materials The scholarship deadline is June 29, 2017. You can find more information online.

Aimee Melissa Davis Scholarship

In memory of Aimee Melissa Davis’ life, the Aimee Melissa Davis Scholarship offers $5,000 awards to high school seniors living with type I diabetes and who are attending a high school in Travis or Williamson County, Texas. Applicants are chosen on academic promise as well as financial need. Students can apply by submitting a one-page personal essay detailing educational and career goals, extra-curricular activities, work history, honors, awards and compelling life experiences helpful to the selection committee. Also, two letters of recommendation, an official transcript and a verification of treatment letter from a physician. The scholarship deadline is April 15, 2017.

Brook Hollow Golf Club Scholarship

Presented by The Dallas Foundation, this scholarship offers renewable awards ranging from $1,000 – $5,000 to the employees of Brook Hollow Golf Club (BHGC), their children or grandchildren to pursue their educational dreams. Applicants may be a current full or part-time employee but must have been working at the BHGC for at least a year before applying for the scholarship. Candidates will find a downloadable application form on the web page requiring basic information as well as a request for academic transcripts and a personal statement regarding educational and career goals The scholarship deadline is April 1, 2017. You can find more information online.

Hellenic Professional Society of Texas Scholarship

The Hellenic Professional Society of Texas offers scholarships to students of Texas with Hellenic heritage who are attending or have been accepted to an accredited four-year Texas college or university. Students not of Hellenic heritage are considered if they have demonstrated excellence in the studies related to Greek letters or affairs. Applicants, graduate, and undergraduate must show a minimum GPA of 3.5. The application can be accessed by creating an online account. The scholarship deadline is December 31, 2017. You can find more information online.

Mary E. Bivins Foundation Scholarships

The scholarship offers nineteen awards consisting of $2,500 semesterly awards to undergraduates and $3,500 semesterly awards for graduate students who are looking to pursue a career in the ministry of Christian religion. Candidates must be a permanent resident of the northernmost counties of the Texas Panhandle and a US citizen who is currently enrolled as a junior or senior undergraduate or as a graduate student at any university across the US.  Applicants can download the updated application on the web page. The scholarship deadline is January 29, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *